Self Introductions and Plans

So it begins…

This is my first blog for writing. So as such, it’s going to be a bit awkward, but I figure, it should become easier to write these over time. The content of my posts will be related to writing and writing advice. Although I am far from an expert, perhaps some of my advice might be pertinent to other writer’s interests.

So then a bit of narcissism ahead.

I have always loved stories. Regardless of their source. Be it in film, books, or games. The story is what is of significance to me. Although I adore painting and sketching, graphic novels seemed well beyond my skill level. Instead, I focused on something within the realm of my (possible) capabilities. So I began to write books. This started when I was about fourteen. I had been making stories, but nothing too lengthy. I just liked making up characters and putting them in situations. I liked writing environments. This also led to some attempts to create videogames in relation to my stories, but my devotion withered as I realized the complexity and effort was well beyond a one-man production team. During that time, I too was developing a novel, and so my interest was divided. Ultimately I gave into noveling my ideas rather than the above mentioned endeavors. While I dabble in the areas, my main project is in novels.

The genera I fell into was fantasy. Over the years of writing I came to some discourse with the genera. That being that on the whole it appears to be trivialized due to the unrealisticness which comes with the fantasy-package. It’s the mission (sometimes) of a writer to sell the fantastical environment/circumstances to the reader. For me, this has been a trying process, but over the years, I have gotten better at giving my works enough consequence, grounded-ness, and subplots to grant it the illusion that it is a real world/possible world.

Anyhow, I’m going to attempt to keep this entry short. I plan to make regular posts, though, what day in particular and or the frequency remains an uncertainty. But, if you enjoyed this snippet, then don’t worry, it won’t be a year or fifteen before I post another.

Anyhow, I hope you have a splendid day!

Bye!

Self Introductions and Plans

Leave a Reply

